Kilgore History & Art Center – U.S. Post Office 1939-1998
Established February 4, 1873, the Kilgore Post Office had several locations during the early years of Kilgore. In 1923 the Post Office moved from the 200 block of North Commerce Street to a building constructed as a post office at the northeast corner of the Rusk Street and South Street intersection. The post office was completed and occupied on December 12, 1938. As a part of the Treasury Department Mural Program, the murals in the lobby were painted by Xavier Gonzalez in 1941.
The post office is no longer in service. KHPF is in the process of restoring the landmark and using the historic building to house some of Kilgore’s unique history.